3rd party software

• Hey everybody,

I had a general question about the different types of software you’ve used on all the major robot brands, I’m a computer engineering student with a focus in intelligent systems; seeing as I work with robots, I think building some-type of third-party software to integrate on a fanuc or something would be cool for a project.

It can be any type of software vision/process monitoring, frame calibration, etc. I’m already familiar with the different OLP softwares, I’m thinking more application focused.

Also, I’ve heard a lot about this thing called “car 0,” I know this has something to do with frames, but I was wondering if somebody could explain to me better what it is.

• Place your Ad here!
  • I had a general question about the different types of software you’ve used on all the major robot brands

"On" is a bit vague. Most robots can only execute code in their own programming language, or option packages built and sold by the robot manufacturer. There are a few 3rd-party tools out there, but they're usually either from the robot manufacturer's technology partners, or are "no warranty, use at own risk" types of thing.

OrangeApps.de sells 3rd-party software that executes on KUKA robots, but I suspect they have some sort of business relationship with KUKA. Then there's OpenShowVar, which falls into the "use at own risk" category. Without massive resources, it's impossible to achieve the level of testing and certification that manufacturers like KUKA put into their option packages.

Since KUKAbots give you access to the Windows environment, it's possible to write Windows programs that will run in the Windows half of the robot's brain. But it would be easy to write a program that created some sort of resource conflict with the KUKA user interface, or even the realtime VxWorks side of the robot's brain (again, "use at your own risk").