New to Fanuc. Challenge given. Need some help to understand, please.

• Hello,

I'm very new to Fanuc. I was given a challenge, that is basically as follows;

"explain to us how the robot does its communication with the PLC in these 2 robots?
    Please make a local copy of the files before you start working with them.
    You can open them using notepad++.
    Can you make a little report about how the robot programs are started from a command given by the PLC?
    What does this structure look like and how does it work?"

I understand how to open the files and look through them, of course. It is rather vague though. I'm not sure exactly what to look for or how to explain the process. I'm used to the KUKA file format. What files should i be looking for, to explain what they are looking for. I have RoboGuide. I've opened the files in Roboguide and Notepad++. I can see the PLC commands and how it is talking to the robot in multiple programs, I'm just not sure that's what they're looking for.

Unfortunately i can not provide the backup, because of confidentiality issues, but I'm assuming, if it IS like kuka, most backups/file layouts are pretty similar (specific tech packages excluded).

I want to understand, of course, so if anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it.

• Place your Ad here!

• I'll give it a shot, line by line, see if it is close to what you are looking for.

explain to us how the robot does its communication with the PLC in these 2 robots?