Got my hands on an old KUKA KR125 with KRC1 controller. Assessing possibillities

• Hi All,

My name is Maurits and I'm from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

I'm new to this forum as I've never done anything robot related other then some arduino programming for a toy 6dof ali-express robot. I do have quite some experience with generating multi axis CNC toolpath , so I'm somewhat familiar with machine programming. When I saw this huge robot-arm for cheap I couldn't resist getting it, not knowing anything about the state of the machine, or how to get it hooked up.

I have done some research, downloaded the manuals, familiarized myself a bit so I think I'll just hook it up as soon as it arrives in my workshop and see what it does.

In the meantime I'm studying the possibillities. Ideally I'd use it for sculpturing 3D models from EPS. I tried to figure out a workflow which I think I have now. I use fusion 360 to generate toolpath. I have a paid license, but without the manufacturing extension, so I can do 3+2 axis programming but not simultaneous multi-axis. That's fine for now, as I can still reach everywhere with 3+2. With the nifty RoboDK add-in I can port it to RoboDK where I can cimulate it and translate it to something the KRC1 should understand.

I notice that the code gets very long very quickly. A simple 2D pocket of some letters on a 15" x 25" panel with a 1/2" bit gets converted into 2000+ instuctions. If I understand correctly I should avoid arcs and circles as they are translated into a bunch of points in space, whereas a line can be written in one instruction with a start and an end point (the controller does the math in deciding which motors to run at what speed to get there). So a big part of keeping it simple can be done in generating toolpath, but still that gives me 1500 instructions.