Motoman HC10 and YRC1000 remote control via ethernet

• Hi,

I am complete noob in terms of robot control staff :neutral_face: and I would like to understand how can I control a HC10 / YRC1000 using ethernet, what I need to achieve:

I want to use the teach pendant to teach the robot a couple of programs and I would like to be able to start/stop/select a program using an API.

I have an external application that is able to perform a REST API callback when a cycle starts, I have to write my own middleware software that takes this call and

forwards it to the robot controller.

Currently I am search for the most easy method to achieve this using ethernet or maybe using relays to trigger I/O pins on the controller.

I found this: https://github.com/ra-mtp-ntnu/moto that I may use in order to communicate with the controller, but not sure if I need other software, modules or licenses.

Basically the task I want to perform is pretty simple: start a program that is already stored on the robot. But I don't know the easies way to achieve this.

Thanks!

• Hi,

I didn't use Moto library before but i think it can help you.

I used before from MotoCom SDK and i can you access to all things.

It need hardware key and it isn't free.

Try at first with Moto library. I think you can use it in Python for test.

• Thank you for this valuable info!

I intend to use the python moto library to set IO pins high/low in order to control certain actions, this is what I am thinking:

Have a master program that runs in a loop, in this loop have something like: IF IO <xxx> == 1 RUN JOB MYJOB1 and so on, and use those IO pins to trigger the jobs I want to run. Will this be the right way to do it ? As I said I am completely new to this but have a strong background in software development.

Also I don't know how can I stop a job and return to the main loop if the program I called didn't reach the end ( abort the job ).

Thanks!