Can not find debugger. How to single-step from the PC ? How about breakpoints ?

• Hello fellows, I have 30+ years of experience in Adept/Omron/Staubli programming (V+ and VAL3 languages), with hundreds of robots programmed, many of them quite complex with multiple cameras and conveyor tracking.

From those systems I am used to have an online-debugger (on the PC) where I can single-step any program and also use breakpoints to pause execution on a specified line. I am also used to be able to inspect the online-contents of local and global variables with the debugger, and also change them online if needed. On V+ system you can even add/delete/modify lines of code online without needing to re-transfer (and therefore re-start the program) from your IDE.

Now I came across a Kawasaki Project. I was puzzled to see that AS language is very similar to V+, indeed 90% of the keywords and behavior is identical. So I thought this is gonna be easy-peasy. But I was wrong, even though the language is very familiar, the Kawasaki way seems to be not user-friendly if you are used to V+ or VAL3.

Those things bother me most :

1) how to single-step an AS program from the PC (basic debugger functionality) ?

2) there seems to be a possibility to single-step from the pendant, but the STEP button does not do what I imagine it should do, I have to type STEP into the terminal for every step. Isn't there a more user-friendly way ?

3) how to use breakpoints online ?

4) how to inspect/manipulate variables/points/strings online ?

5) When transferring programs from KIDE to the controller, many times I get a generic message telling me that there is a mistake in the programs, but how can I find which line of code is offending ? How to check for errors before transferring ?

what am I missing ? Is there really no debugger or was I just too dumb to find it ? Or will a fully licensed K-Roset provide that missing functionality ? Which license would I need ?