adding additional safety IO to KRC4

• Hello, I am quite new to this so bear with me please.

I am planning on using a KRC4 primary controller connected to EK1100 -> EL6695-1001 -> (Safety stuff). Would this be sufficient enough to add extra SAFETY IO without the addition of the X11? namely I want to add Estop and light curtains without needing to purchase the expensive x11/x13 to add the extra safety IO.

I am thinking of two different options if this doesn't work namely:

KRC4 -> EK1100 -> EK1918 -> (safety stuff)

or

KRC4 -> EK1960-0000 -> (safety Stuff).

I am not sure which one of these would work as I am very very new to this. I don't think I need access to the secondary side of the EtherCAT, however i am unsure and any advice is appreciated.

• 95devils

Approved the thread.
  • not familiar with EK1960 but i would say that is probably not how things work....

when working with a fieldbus (any kind), one can connect two or more nodes. but... that is not enough.

one of the connected nodes needs a special role - it need to act as a bus master. other nodes are slaves. Master initiates and controls communication. slaves can be specialized but they are still 'dumb' in a sense that they do not understand surrounding or what other nodes exist near them. they only respond when spoken to and the "conversation" is controlled by master. master keeps a list of all slaves, their IO range etc. so master can talk to any of (own) slaves. master does not see what is on the other side of the bridge. bridge simply appears as another (own) slave.

EL6695 is a bridge - it is used to connect two different bus networks. master on each side of the bridge only sees one side of the bridge. bridge swaps traffic lanes. data arriving from one master is available for other master to read and vice versa.

in other words network on each side of the bridge needs own master.

on one side there is a KRC and that is fine for that side.