Touch Sensing Weld Wire issue

• Hi All,

Looking for some guidance here, as I have programmed touch sensing and it is working as it supposed to work until the robot weld something.

The issue is the weld wire have a different length every time it finishes a weld. It is shorter than should be for sensing start point of next weld.

My question is, there is anyway to increase the weld wire length (let's say for example 5mm) after every weld?

Or if someone have any other idea how to solve this issue it will be much appreciated.

I am using a Fanuc R-30IA with a Licoln Power Wave R450

If anymore info needed please let me know.

And apologies for this rookie question but it is never easy when we learn on self-taught way.

Thanks in advance for all the help

• Touching with the welding wire is very frowned upon because the wire stickout is never consistent and the wire is never completly straight/bent in the same direction. So your touch offsets are always off by a few 0.1 mm.

Fanuc has a 'wire inching' function that allows you to push/pull the wire for a set duration (set in miliseconds).

If you have to use the wire for touch sensing, be sure that the wire is parallel to the part you are touching to ensure the most accurate reading (if you have a cleaning station with a wire cutter you should also cut the wire to lenght before each touch sensing application - a poor arc off that leaves a big blob of material at the end of the wire will also mess with your offset)

Your search speed also affects the accuracy. The faster the search speed (the speed with which the robot moves towards the part during touch sensing) the lower the accuracy. Default on Fanuc is 10mm/s IIRC, maybe lower it to 5mm/s? This is a much bigger issue with wire touching than it is with the gas nozzle.

Most use the gas nozzle instead of the wire which is much more accurate and consistent, but the welding torch must support gas nozzle touch sensing and you have to set it up on the machine.