ASYPTP moving E1

• Hi everyone.
    I'm very new to KUKA, so I set up an easy piece of code to understand how asynchronous motion works:

Code
    ;TEST 1: Movement ASYPTP
       ASYPTP {E1 500}

WHILE $POS_ACT.E1 <> 500
          ;Stay here
       ENDWHILE

Unfortunately, nothing happens. Instead of the WHILE I was using HALT, but figured that could have been the cause for the robot not moving (even though that doesn't convince me, really).
    I read about $EX_KIN in another thread, but its setting seems fine.

I'm running the code on Officelite, KSS 8.6.2.
    Any help is deeply appreciated.

• There exist several requirements for asyptp movements:

- there must be configured a external axis

- the external axis must be configured/switched as asynchronous

Hi hermann, thanks for answering.
    The external axis is configured correctly, I can jog it and it can be moved synchronously.

Before I could test my code I thought that I had to switch the ext axis to asynchronous to execute an ASYPTP. However, on KUKA's document about ext axis I read this:

Which made me believe the switch was executed directly from the ASYPTP instruction... Am I wrong?

• ASYPTP and $EX_KIN are basically mutually exclusive. A kinematically integrated external axis cannot be switched into the Async mode that allows ASYPTP.

Hi SkyeFire and thanks for answering.
    My settings for $EX_KIN are:

Code
    DECL EX_KIN $EX_KIN={ET1 #EASYS,ET2 #NONE,ET3 #NONE,ET4 #NONE,ET5 #NONE,ET6 #NONE}

Should I change something? The external axis is used synchronously in some parts of the program (which was made by someone else, I'm modifying it), so I'm afraid that changing something will create some problems. However, if that's the only way, I'll make the required changes.

• Did you read the refered chapter 8.6.1? Think there should be explained, that when you have

$EX_AX_ASYNC=1