Safety Circuit wiring R-30iA with AB 5069-OBV8S

• Hello All,

I have a robot cell I've been working on for a few months, it is my first integration project (I do not work for an integrator, I am a first time automation engineer at a manufacturer), and I have a problem. I'm using an Allen Bradley Compact GuardLogix PLC with safety IO modules to control the safety and other parts of the cell. My plan was to have the safety devices (interlock, e-stop button, light curtains) input to the PLC, and then the PLC output to the EES and EAS terminals on TB0P4. After testing and popping fuse 1 a couple times, it isn't working. It looks like I need to use dry contacts to complete the safety circuit and not powered points, so my questions are:

Can I use my output module (5069-OBV8S) by wiring it in bipolar mode with my negative to EES/EAS 1/2, and the positive to EES/EAS 11/21, or will that also pop the fuse? I currently have the positive to EES/EAS 1/2 and negative to EES/EAS 11/21.

Do I need to get safety relays for this instead? Since I'm using a safety PLC, would it be ok to use normal relays controlled by the safety output module? It is being built to SIL2.

Can I make my module points dry contacts somehow? My apologies if this is a dumb question, my PLC education was... limited, to say the least.

Does the safety circuit run on the EXT 0/+24V in TB0P6 and should I be looking at how I have that wired instead? That is wired as +24VDC to EXT24V and the negative from the same DC PSU to the EXT0V.

I am out of my depth, with no real experience or education in safety wiring, so my apologies if this isn't making sense.

• Swapping the outputs so that the negative side went to EES/EAS 1/2 and the positive side to EES/EAS 11/21 worked. If there are any issues this might cause later on down the road, please feel free to chime in. Otherwise, I consider this solved.