Should I make the jump to start my own company?

• I have almost 20 years of automation experience with robotics and plcs. Is it time for me to start my own consulting and programming company? Or do I just keep working for someone else? Not in a good position to be without income for an extended time period. Anyone out there have any advice ?

• Will it really be worthwhile to do that? Are you well compensated now with pay and benefits? Your pay will go up but benefits such as health insurance will be on you then. You will have to pay all your income taxes as well as record keeping. You will have to do invoicing and make sure that you get paid. Unless you hire someone which will also come out of your earnings. For me it seems like too much. Pimpin' ain't easy.

• I woke up one morning and decided to do it, no real thinking time, no prior experience of setting up, running and maintaining a business, I just did it on the fly.

Looking back, would I have done things differently, absolutely.....RESEARCH + PREPARATION

Depends on your circumstances, family, finances, location etc what is involved, but below is a summary of areas to consider:

1. Current finances and family lifestyle.

- How this will impact on those dearest to you.

- Do you have their support, financially, and the reality of the emotional pressure impact.

- Are you prepared to work more hours (admin of a business takes up huge chunks of time).

- Can you manage to work from home, a room you can setup as an office.

- Have you the finances to support a start-up period of suddenly receiving no income.

2. Do you require an accountant and book keeping.

- Currently you may not be aware of the inner activities of the company you work for.

- If you do require one, shop around.

- One that specializes in small companies and is prepared to educate you along the way.

- If you have a friend whom is an accountant, that could be very beneficial.

3. What start-up costs are involved.