TO find robot speed in VAL3

• Hello all,

I'm working on a staubli TX-60 robot and am using val3 for it's programming. I'm new to val3 and i wanted to know if there was a way I could get the speed with which the robot is moving and also if there is a function to calculate the time that the robot takes to move from one position to another

• Hi Rahulsajeev0909,
    Yes you can get the monitor speed of the robot by using the function getMonitorSpeed() and also set the speed by using the setMonitorSpeed() function.
    For the speed monitoring of the move instruction you can use the internal clock to start a timer before the move and then stop it after the move has completed by using waitEndMove() after the move instruction. For Example:

Code
    MoveTimer = clock()
    Movej(Pick, tTool1, mPick)
    waitEndMove()
    MoveTimer = (clock()-MoveTimer)
  • Hi Rahulsajeev0909,
    Yes you can get the monitor speed of the robot by using the function getMonitorSpeed() and also set the speed by using the setMonitorSpeed() function.
    For the speed monitoring of the move instruction you can use the internal clock to start a timer before the move and then stop it after the move has completed by using waitEndMove() after the move instruction. For Example:

Code
    MoveTimer = clock()
    Movej(Pick, tTool1, mPick)
    waitEndMove()
    MoveTimer = (clock()-MoveTimer)

Hello BOTTECH and thank your for the reply
    The getmonitorSpeed() shows the monitor speed of the robot but we need to find the speed of the robot's movements. Is there a function to find that out??, we tried using getspeed() but couldn't find the result. Can u show me an example of how to use getspeed()??
    And also the clock() function shows the time in seconds but we need to find the time taken in milliseconds as our movement is very quick and for a short distance