Newbie question

• Hi everyone,

I'm new to robotics, and I have a rather mechanical question.

Gear 1 is at a fixed position but can turn on itself.

Gear 2 can both move horizontally between A and B, and rotate on itself if gear 2 rotates but its horizontal movement should not affect gear 1.

I thought of a timing belt but that only works with two fixed positions, whereas here gear 2 must be able to be turned by gear 1 at any point between A and B.

Any idea how do we solve this problem?

Thanks

• Go to Best Answer
  • You need to provide more information if you want a valid answer.

For example:

• Whats the distance from A to B?
    • Whats the distance from Gear 1 to Gear 2 at A and B?
    • Are there any space constrains, or do we treat this as an isolated system floating in space?
    • How much Power/Torque does this system need to transmit?
    • Is there a backlash requirement?

Also, gears are typically not used with timing belts. Those use pulleys. Or if you want to use a chain, you would use sprockets. Gears typically only interface with other gears.

In addition to that, you should tell us what you are trying to do. There may be a better solution out there that uses a completely different solution if we have an idea on what then end goal is.

Check out the Fanuc position converter I wrote here! Now open source!

Check out my example Fanuc Ethernet/IP Explicit Messaging program here!

• You want Gear 1 to drive Gear 2, regardless of the distance between A and B, correct? And your intent is to use a belt drive?