Stop robot motion with a signal

• Hi,

I have to make the robot detect when it has hit something on the Z axis. I think that's possible to do with some additional stuff from yaskawa,

but since I only need the z axis I thought I'd use a compensation unit between gripper and robot, that would send a signal from a sensor when it compresses(1-2mm).

I am new to programming yaskawa robots so I'm trying to figure out how to make the robot move along Z and stop when the signal is reached.

Thanks in advance

• Hi,

What is your application?

If you have a gripper that press, you must use force/torque sensor, there are other way and it is search sensor that usually use for find the workpiece before grip same as sheet in palletizing application, it can send signal to RIN inputs when the sensor install on the gripper sense the workpiece.

• Optional search function. Depending on what generation of controller you may need some extra hardware installed, along with the function turned on.

Program the position like this:

MOVL V= SRCH RIN#( )=ON. You need to fill in the speed and the input number.

Next line would be a GETS to see what happened. Did the robot reach the position or did the RIN come on. Don’t know what address it it since I don’t know what controller you’re dealing with.

I know a thing or two, because I’ve seen a thing or two. Don't even ask about a third thing. I won't know it.

• I had a look in the official documentation and found a tag "until" which is apparently included in my controller (YRC1000). Wouldn't it achieve a similar result?

Also I don't have to do anything special with this, after the motion stops I need to activate the magnetic gripper and return along Z, to a Z value that stays the same, no matter the depth before.