What sort of robot will I need to hold a welder (How expensive?)

• Hi all,

Newbie here so please go easy.

I am a welder by trade and was wondering how difficult it would be to get a robot to 'hold' a welder and move it in some fairly basic movements so I could teach my friend how to hold the gun steady and straight and smooth, etc.

This video clip here shows a simple weld from left to right, this is the sort of thing I would like to programme a robot to do:

External Content www.youtube.com
    Content embedded from external sources will not be displayed without your consent.
    Through the activation of external content, you agree that personal data may be transferred to third party platforms. We have provided more information on this in our privacy policy.

Or, slightly more advanced, here at 48 seconds:

External Content www.youtube.com
    Content embedded from external sources will not be displayed without your consent.
    Through the activation of external content, you agree that personal data may be transferred to third party platforms. We have provided more information on this in our privacy policy.

I know they have robot welders in industry but I was looking for a sort of scaled down version.....please can I ask if anyone can offer any pointers?

Thanks, all.

• If it is for training, it will be with a collaborative robot type universal robot.

You can create a basic robot program whith the plane and the torch tilt you want

And in use learn several points for the weldpath depending the exercise.

The robot will go directly to the first point learnde with the correct inclinaison.

The feed speed max in collaboration is 250mm/sec.

I don t know if that what you mean.

• This is excellent, thank you!!

Yes, that is what I meant but now the biggie - what sort of robot would help do this? It only has to 'hold' the welder to weld, say, 150mm in length so I don't need any industrial robot here.

Any ideas, please?