Recreating welding weave sine

• Hello,

I have a Fanuc robot with RJ2 controller, and with HandlingTool. I want to use it for a welding project, and I suppose I can't have the weave program on it, only if I recreate it.

I've bee thinking on the logic for this program, but I'm a beginner in Fanuc programming.

Can somebody recommend a documentation or tutorial for doing complex math with positions in TP program?

I need to make position operations (calculate the distance between 2 points) and to generate points between 2 points. Than generate move commands between these points.

Basically this is the logic how I want to make the weave pattern.

• aroldino

Changed the title of the thread from “Recreating welding weavw sine” to “Recreating welding weave sine”.
  • hello,

I'm forwarding with this project.

I think I'm almost done, but I have a problem.

My code is weaving, but not in the right coordinate system, and I really don't know how to solve this.

I attach the code.

I use a TP program and a Karel program

Pre-conditions to run the KAREL code:

Save some data to:

R[1] - we can call it half frequency (the distance between passes trough the X axis of the path)

R[2] - amplitude

PR[2] - starting point

PR[3] - end point (this should be only an X offset in the TOOL coordinate system, for testing, I'm not sure if it works with 2D displacement yet)

I run the KAREL code, and the robot makes a weaving motion, but I want it to make it in TOOL coordinate system, not in WORLD system.

I tried with OFFSET PR[] in the TP program, but no luck.

Any suggestion for optimising things is welcome.

• My code generates coordinates like X: 67 Y:-35 Z; 0 W:0 P: 0 R: 0

So theoretically I just need to move incrementally in TOOL Coordinate System.

I tried to use tool offset PR , but I think I didn't define correctly the offset PR.

See attached picture

For example let's say that the tool is at 200 mm from the faceplate in Z direction.