What’s a good option for a robot to mill timber, foam etc

• I am looking to buy a used robot arm to mill wood, foam etc.

I am new to robots but familiar with CNC routers.

can anyone suggest an arm that would suit?

I am looking to buy a used arm with a budget of AUS$10-20k.

I have found a supplier of used arms in South Australia - Blackbox Industrial Surplus. They have quite a number of arms available.

I would really appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks

• Oh, boy...

There used to be some in-depth threads in the archives, but I think they all got lost when Werner had to switch to the new forum system.

First, read the threads on buying used robots. There are a lot of hidden costs, and things to watch out for.

Second, you are NOT going to get the kind of accuracy even a cheap CNC router would achieve. Robots have repeatability/precision, but not accuracy. Not without a lot of extra work and money. On top of that, robots don't have anything like the rigidity of CNC machines (except maybe the super-cheap Chinesium CNCs). Robot aren't made to resist external forces, like that a milling spindle will put on them. Just changing from Climb to Conventional cutting could change the cut your robot makes by millimeters. At minimum, expect to need a lot of spring passes.

Third, the robot will only be a part of the cost -- the software you need to produce a robot motion program from a 3D model (as opposed to a CNC machine) can easily cost $20k or more, and takes a lot of training and skill to operate. You might be able to use RoboDK, which is the cheapest offline programming system I know of, but there's going to be a lot of learning curve even with that. And unless you buy one of the major robot brands, you might easily find your cheap used robot isn't supported. Or its operating system is too out of date to work with modern program generators.