KUKA KRC2 control via Xbox PS4 gamepad

• Hello,
    unfortuately I didn't find the answer in other topics.
    I would like to use the game controller (xBox or PS4) to control the robot's movements. Have a KUKA KR210 with KRC2 ed.05 cabinet. It will not be a commercial/industrial project, so the solution does not have to had industrial safety standards. Only for own testing purposes. Has anyone tryied similar topic?

• I do not know about these gamepads (if they have any SDK or API), but if they have any, I think it is programmable. On the web is a video showing the robot control via mobile phone (using KukaVarProxy).

• The first thing you need is to figure out how you are going to communicate. Does your KRC2 have I/O installed? or other communication cards?

i am no expert on game controllers but i dont think there is a direct way to connect to KRC, so you are probably going to need something to intermediate between the 2. Then it all depends on what you exactly want to control.

Also you mention you don't have to adhere to safety standards, but i would like to point out that a KR210 (or any industrial robot for that matter) is not something you should discard safety so easily. I recommend that you have at least working emergency buttons and some sort of deadman switch while jogging the robot with your gamepad.

Every problem has a solution, that isn't the problem. The problem is the solution.

• Kukavarproxy and Ethernet connection - like a RoboDK software use to robot connect. About safety I think I can run a specify prepared program (in auto mode) which read variables (XYZABC) in constant time interval.

That's my idea but I am looking for help with configuration Kukavarproxy and ethernet connection.

• kukavarproxy seems very interesting..

I want to use a kr210/krc2 with manual control(like something full speed jog) but no from teach pendant

i want control from arcade video joystick-buttons i want to have linear movements X-Y-Z & circular A-B-C