Vision milling system for Kuka Robot

• Hello all,

I am a proud owner of a robot KUKA LBR4 with LR Controller and KUKA KCP2 Control Panel recently and

have the idea to turn it into a milling robot witch to integrate to help me in my work.

I have no experience in tuning robots but I have very good technical knowledge.

Is there an opportunity to integrate a vision system that scans the details and that a contour or

area is milled. Because the parts it will process are about 10 varieties, is it possible to be

scanned and the robot will automatically recognize the given details and perform the desired

milling according to predefined parameters.

For example, as seen in the picture, the detail is scanned and the contours are set to be milling

(for example, letters in white) at a predetermined depth.

Please give hardware and software suggestions.

Thank you in advance.

Best regards.

• An LBR really isn't the best robot for doing milling with, unless you're only milling very soft materials and making very light cuts. The LBR just doesn't have the stiffness or rigidity.

As far as the vision, maybe? You would need good identifying features on each product, and be able to calibrate them dimensionally. The details would depend entirely on your context -- there are Blob finding tools, circle/edge/line/intersection finders, PatMax... the list is endless. Cognex is generally considered one of the more powerful and flexible vision solutions. Keyence isn't bad either, and somewhat cheaper.

• Thanks for the info really helps me SkyeFire.

Now I understand that LBR is not suitable for milling of solid materials such as metal and others. It will cut only epoxy resin and plastic.

With regard to vision systems, can you recommend me what it is like for a Cognex (model/technology) company. With such a vision system, how can I integrate it in my case?

Thank you in advance.

• There are several in-depth discussions of this in the forum archives.