ABB controller with home made external track

• Hi everyone.

I'm a software engineer so robotics is not my field, but as i'm the guy that uses the pc, they asked to me to improve their working system.

In my new working company, we have 4 irb4600 robots. One of this robots is installed on a home made track ( they wanted to build something like the irbt 2005 ).

At the moment the track is moved with two buttons by the user, one moving track front and one back.

Rapid is programmed to wait until the operator moves the track in the next position and push a button.

Now they asked to me to investigate if the track can be modified in order to be piloted by the controller using the I/O system but i have no deep knowledge of the controller.

If you should achieve this and modify the already existing track, what would you do ?

Thanks in advance

p.s. i've already tried to throw away the track and buy the official one but reply was a big big big no :frowning_face::loudly_crying_face:

• At absolute minimum, you would have to add outputs to the robot that could be wired in to replace the current operator buttons. However, this would be "blind" -- the robot would have no knowledge of what position the track is in.

You could also add sensors to the track, that would be activated when the track is at Position A, Position B, etc, and wire them into inputs on the robot (which would also have to be added). But this is liable to not be very accurate, unless you have the track move slowly using an input-based interrupt in the program. How accurate does the positioning need to be?

Your best option, in my opinion, would be to replace the motor that currently drives the track with an ABB servo motor, and add that servo motor to the ABB controller. It's been several years, so I don't recall exactly what the hardware requirements are to do this, but once the hardware is in place, I usually found it quite simple to configure a 3rd-party track as a 7th axis on an IRC5.