K-Roset: A beginner’s journey

• Greetings Fellow Novice --

I’ve been a software developer for 20 years and have taught others how to code at various points in my career. It’s always eye-opening to discover knowledge you take for granted that a beginner will have difficulty figuring out on their own. I have no prior experience with robotics, CAD type tools or any other application similar to K-ROSET.

My intention is to document a novice’s journey of learning how to develop a simulation in K-ROSET. Hopefully, this will assist other beginners with topics that seasoned K-ROSET developers don’t think about any more and save you some time.

I’m learning on K-ROSET Version 1.8.1.16605 on Windows 10 Pro. The robot is: https://robotics.kawasaki.com/…l-medium-payloads/RS020N/. I’m not learning for a factory but rather a small shop starting with one robot and one mill.

The task I have to accomplish is similar to the provided sample project RS010N_Floor_Handling. Unfortunately, there are two projects with that same name. It’s the top one that feeds into a mill with a door and not the one moving bottles into a box. (image attached)

• Some miscellaneous observations and suggestions

Unlocking the full version with the USB license.

If you plug in the license USB to unlock your K-ROSET LITE version it likely won’t work. The secret was tucked away in some printed material that came with the CD. You need to download a specific driver for it to recognize the USB. The provided URL in the material directed me to a dead site with no redirect. Pulling apart the URL and putting the pieces into a search engine eventually led me here: https://sentinelcustomer.gemal…e+%26+Device+Driver&l=all

Get the driver appropriate for your machine. Install it, plug in the USB and restart K-ROSET.

Make a shortcut to KHlibraries folder and explore it through K-ROSET.

Mine was here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Kawasaki\K-ROSET\Hisui\KHIlibraries