CNT not working with PRs

• Rj3iA controller.

I'm new to Fanuc, although this robot is already up and running. Since day one I haven't been able to get a continuous motion using PRs. I can't use Ps since everything but three points are variable.

Here's a snippet that is not working as intended. The controller is executing all these points as FINE.

All points are defined and used above all of this.

PR[1] = P[2]
    PR[1,3] = R[6]
    PR[1] R[2]mm/sec FINE

PR[5] = P[1]
    PR[5,3]= R[6]
    PR[5] R[2]mm/sec CNT50

PR[2] = P[3]
    PR[2,3]= R[6]
    PR[2] R[2]mm/sec FINE

Also, I created a new program using just these lines and the points, and there's no difference whatsoever.

I found this thread about locking PRs, of which I had no idea, but moving all the assigments above and placing the three movement instructions between LOCK PREG and UNLOCK PREG doesn't change anything. Do they need to be locked way before the program steps in those lines? Maybe putting the assignments as far as possible from the movement instructions?

There's a similar cell with an R30iA that is using CNT PRs all over the place, working perfectly. There's no LOCK PREG and all these PRs and Rs are being updated constantly. Does it have something to do with the controller?

Edited once, last by vmec ().

• What kind of controller do you really have? There was an RJ3 and a RJ3iB, but no RJ3iA.

Do you have the constant path option installed? Without that, the robot will take a different path based on speed. At 2 mm/sec, you may not see any difference if you don't have constant path.

Why are your speeds so low?

What's the application?

What is the mechanical unit? (Is it a M-410 or an LR Mate?)

• What kind of controller do you really have? There was an RJ3 and a RJ3iB, but no RJ3iA.

Sorry, mistake. Rj3iB dated 2001.