Help with Karel code

• So I want to set a variable from a TP program but my problem is the Variable name is too long to use the $...=.... instruction.

So I found this Karel code that seems to be working

PROGRAM SET_INI_OFS

VAR
    ENTRY:INTEGER

BEGIN
    SET_VAR(entry, '*SYSTEM*', '$DPM_SCH[1].$GRP[1].$OFS[1].$INI_OFS', 10.0, STATUS)
    END SET_INI_OFS

However instead of changing the variable to 10.0 I want to reference a register.

I'm trying to use the Karel reference manual to figure it out but i have never used Karel before so I'm not getting very far.

Can someone show me the code I need to do this?

Thanks

• 1. declare a new REAL variable (let's name it value)
    2. before your SET_VAR: read the register (GET_REG built-in? don't remember the built-in names and don't have the manual at hand atm.), saving it to value
    3. change you SET_VAR to:

SET_VAR(entry, '*SYSTEM*', '$DPM_SCH[1].$GRP[1].$OFS[1].$INI_OFS', value, STATUS)

The program will now read the register and save it to the variable (as REAL), and then use this variable to set the system variable that you wish.

EDIT: to make it neater, I would also add some evaluation of STATUS - at least a check against a non-zero value.

Edited once, last by bidzej ().

• PROGRAM SET_INI_OF2

VAR
    ENTRY:INTEGER
    REGISTER:INTEGER
    RFLAG:BOOLEAN
    RVALUE:REAL

BEGIN
    GET_REG(150,RFLAG,REGISTER,RVALUE,STATUS)
    SET_VAR(entry, '*SYSTEM*', '$DPM_SCH[1].$GRP[1].$BI_CH[1].$BUMP_RATE', RVALUE, STATUS)
    END SET_INI_OF2

OK I think that is what I did. What I was having trouble with is for some reason I thought the variable that "GET_REG" stored to was the "REGISTER:INTEGER" variable.

Then I found that in order to get the above code to work you had to have a decimal number in the register. 10.1 will work, but 10 will not.

Can you explain why if behaves like this? whats the difference/significance between "REGISTER:INTEGER" and "RVALUE:REAL" in the GET_REG line.

The manual says