Creating EtherCAT I/O connections through WorkVisual

• Hi all,
    As the topic name implies, I'd like to create an EtherCAT I/O for the Sunrise Cabinet where I can essentially send a digital signal through one of the pins. However, I've been struggling over the last two days because I have no actual experience with Fieldbuses and creating networks in general. As a result, I've been very lost on trying to figure out how to actually assign input and output pins. Actually creating the Sunrise I/O group and assigning IOs within it is not a problem, but I'm struggling with understanding what is what when I'm going through the Fieldbuses tab to actually find this particular connection. I see a lot of people on this forum discussing things like EL*** buses and etc. when I search this topic, so am I missing something fundamental while approaching this problem?

I don't know if it'll help, but I've attached a screenshot of the Fieldbuses I have access to, and (what I assume to be) the IO's I can modify on the KUKA Sunrise Cabinent (CIB-SR, right?).

Thanks for reading - any help is appreciated, even the kind that tells me my approach to this entire issue is wrong. :icon_smile:

• Hi there!

It looks like you haven't configured any EtherCAT devices in WorkVisual! Do you have the EtherCAT devices (such as an EL1809 Digital Input) that you want to use? You also need an EK1100 bus coupler to send and receive EtherCAT signals to and from the robot. If you do have devices to configure, follow these steps:
    1. Go to https://download.beckhoff.com/…Beckhoff_EtherCAT_XML.zip to download the EtherCAT device description files (in XML format). Unpack this file to a directory of your choice.

2. In WorkVisual, go to File > Close to close your current project.

3. Follow File > Import/Export (dialog box will appear) > Import device description file > Browse > Set file type to EtherCAT ESI