learning language

• I've been programing for many years using inform language with Motoman robots. I could use a little help transitioning. I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm looking for the equivalent of a "I move", to move FROM a point a given direction and distance.

Do robots dream?

• Is an I move like an incremental move?

If so add the INC option to the end of a move, and then populate the position with how far you want the robot to move.

Check out the Fanuc position converter I wrote here! Now open source!

Check out my example Fanuc Ethernet/IP Explicit Messaging program here!

Edited once, last by Nation ().

• Yes! From what I'm reading this is what I want. The manual is unclear. Can you please provide an example of the practical application of the code so I can more clearly understand?

Do robots dream?

• Sure, see example below.

• Thanks, this is very helpful. I can clearly see how to set distance and direction. Can you explain the relevance of the UFRAM# and UTOOL#?

Do robots dream?

• UTOOL is which TCP to use. In the case of the above, use the 9th programed TCP.
    UFRAME is which user frame to use. A UFRAME of 0 is the world frame.

• That is as I thought. When displaying the position detail, the configuration numbers seem to be related to wrist orientation. Can you explain this a little for me?
    When I try recreate your example, I get an error massage at line 4. SYST-034 HOLD... I am confused by the term "Uninitialized". Can you shed some light on this for me please, I almost got this.

Do robots dream?

• For wrist configuration, and turn numbers, watch my YouTube video on the subject here.

The reason you are getting uninitialized errors is that the Fanuc controller uninitializes the point data when the INC command is added, for safety reasons. You have to go in the point and type your incremental offset in.