Plastic milling

• Some basic questions concerning milling of blow moulded plastic parts having 2-3 mm thickness.

1) What is required payload? Which KUKA models do you use? Tool is about 4-5 kg I think.
    2) Pneumatic or electric spindle? Recommended manufacturers?
    3) Needed power and rpm of spindle?

I'm new to plastic milling.

• What kind of plastic are you using? if you use standard HDPE it is easy to mill you can almost use any kind of spindle or mill. If you are using different materials like maybe a PET(G) or a Polycarbonate i would recommend using a electric mill just because you have a bit more control over the Rpm's and could be very useful when you get unwanted vibrations.
    required payload is a little bit harder, it depends on the kind of mill you want to use and the force that is needed to push the mill through the material. Maybe you can explain a bit more what you want to do.

Every problem has a solution, that isn't the problem. The problem is the solution.

• I need to check this material but I think it would be HDPE.

The robot task is to cut blow moulded part out of the sheet and mill shape of the part. Also drill and cut some holes.

The task would be something like in this video --> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjAAhsrHwR0 What may be the robot model in that case?

Path accuracy of 1 mm is accepted.

• Path accuracy of 1mm is difficult, and may not be achievable. Path repeatability is much more precise, but requires iterative program adjustment until the desired tolerances are achieved.

For this application, you probably want an HA-series KUKAbot, probably with a field Absolute Accuracy calibration performed using your working payload.

However, while robots have excellent repeatability, they lack the rigidity to maintain accuracy against outside forces. So your milling process would need to emphasize minimal force on the mill -- high RPMs, lower feedrates, possibly additional flutes on the cutter to reduce chipload.