Fanuc 420 linuxcnc

• Hi folks.

I am new in this forum and in the field of robots. My background is software and mechanics.

For a new project i need to run a 6 axis robot. So we bougth a fanuc 420. I need to run this robot on linuxcnc because i want to be independent of any software or controller-hardware related stuff.

I am wondering if somebody did the same in the past or can point me in the right direction.

• Let me get this straight: you want to control the robot servo motors directly from LinuxCNC? How are you planning to re-create the kinematic model of the arm? Can LinuxCNC even coordinate a 6-axis serial-kinematic device?

• Let me get this straight: you want to control the robot servo motors directly from LinuxCNC?

Exactly

How are you planning to re-create the kinematic model of the arm?

As I wrote i am new and i am not sure if i understand this question exactly. If the question is how to calculate the angles between the axis to get the actor to the right point, then this would be my cam software i wrote.

Can LinuxCNC even coordinate a 6-axis serial-kinematic device?

I think so, then there are a couple of projects using linuxcnc for they robot.

We are producing right now on a huge 5 axis cnc timber frame mill. We want to increase the production but such machines are expensive, hard to transport and need a lot of space. Thats why we wanna give a try to use a robot.

I wrote our own cam to do the parts because tool-path is really complicated and a result of boolean operation between two parts of each 500k+ 3d points. Standard software couldn't handle this.

In my naive view a robot "just" has one axis more. But i have a bad feeling that this additional axis will make me a lot of trouble. I have a couple ideas how i can do the programming. For now i just need to be able to turn every single axle out of linuxcnc. The rest will come.