Robotforum | Industrial Robots Community

Industrial Robot Support and Discussion Center => KUKA Robot Forum => Topic started by: puneeth.r18 on April 28, 2015, 01:28:37 PM

Title: Using Automatic External
Post by: puneeth.r18 on April 28, 2015, 01:28:37 PM
Hi All,

My Controller Details: KRC4
Firmware Version: KS 8.3.13

Problem: 1) The robot does not select the program no in the CELL.SCR when in Automatic mode.

I have gone through this forum and found http://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/external-start-stop-without-a-plc/ (http://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/external-start-stop-without-a-plc/) this post help helpful, but I am unable to get it running.

I have seen the timing diagram in the SI integrator manual and do exactly the same.
Steps that I follow:
                             1) Select the program CELL.SCR, when IN T1 mode.
                             2) Run it till it reaches home position, when IN T1 mode.
                             3) Select the EXT mode on the teach pendent.
                             4) Set $DRIVES_ON to TRUE and WAIT for $PERI_RDY to TRUE & then set $DRIVES_ON to FALSE. This is what I understood from the timing diag.(Some post suggest to set $DRIVES_ON as pulse,but at what
                             5) Set $CONF_MESS to TRUE, WAIT for $STOPMESS FALSE, set $CONF_MESS to FALSE
                             6) Set $EXT_START to TRUE, (According to the manual I need to reset $EXT_START after $PRO_ACT, but this never turns on and strangely $PGNO_REQ is always on)
                             7) Set $EXT_START to FALSE when $PGNO_REG is TRUE
                             8) I send PGNO as "1" and PGNO_PARITY as "1"(The PGNO_PARITY is confusing for me as what to set)
                             9) Wait for 100ms send PGNO_VALID = TRUE
                             10) I get a message to reset PGNO_VALID, i do it then I get message to turn on PGNO_VALID this runs in loop.(The current pointer in CELL.SCR is at P00 before the switch statement)

What am I doing wrong? Please help me in this regards.

Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: panic mode on April 28, 2015, 08:51:22 PM
if you don't want to use parity, set it to zero, otherwise you must compute it on PLC end.

Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: puneeth.r18 on April 29, 2015, 06:19:30 AM
@Panic_mode

Ok I now know how to calculate the parity. But the question is why does the robot loops around PGNO_VALID?
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: panic mode on April 29, 2015, 11:37:03 AM
did you adapt CELL.SRC, what is called when PGNO=1?
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: puneeth.r18 on April 30, 2015, 09:30:03 AM
@ Panic mode

Yes I was stupid enough and had forgotten to un-comment inside the select case :wallbash:.

Now everything works like a charm. :top:
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: MetsaToll on April 20, 2016, 07:39:15 AM
Above mentioned topic “external-start-stop-without-a-plc “ is giving:
“The topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or off limits to you.”
Is it possible to see it? If then how?
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: doubravacek on February 11, 2019, 06:29:12 AM
Hello,
does anybody have backup of " http://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/external-start-stop-without-a-plc/ " Please? The link is dead.  :icon_frown:
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: SkyeFire on February 11, 2019, 02:58:08 PM
Unlikely, a lot of threads were lost during the forum migrations.

What do you need to know?
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: panic mode on February 12, 2019, 05:57:54 AM
try this
https://www.roboterforum.de/roboter-forum/kuka-roboter/3/tasten-ersetzen-smartpad/15620/
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: doubravacek on February 13, 2019, 09:05:01 AM
I need to controll robot with pushbuttons.

Interrupt robot moving by opening robot cell (it works via X11), enter, check CNC lathe (tools etc.), exit, close robot cell, reset safety and continue robot program from the point where robot was stopped.
Title: Re: Using Automatic External
Post by: SkyeFire on February 13, 2019, 02:49:22 PM
That can be done with either EXT or AUT modes.  It all depends on how you configure your I/O signals.
If you want to avoid the SmartPad entirely, you'll need to use EXT mode.  You'll simply have to connect buttons for each of the Auto-External signals that would otherwise be provided by a remote PLC. 
Selecting the program would have to be done on the SmartPad, but after that, it should be possible to run the robot indefinitely without touching the SmartPad again unless something seriously unusual happens.
You will need to observe the SmartPad in order to see any error messages that crop up.