Author Topic: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet  (Read 218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RoboG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 10
KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« on: October 10, 2018, 01:31:28 PM »
Hi Guys.
I am having trouble trying to get a Kuka KRC4 communicating to a compact logix plc over ethernet /ip.
Unfortunately I cannot get the communication modules to communicate. I need some help with the configuration.
What I’m trying to configure is the Robot as a slave, the Compactlogix with Safety CPU running the safety.
Hardware details
Robot : KR3 540,   KS 8.3.450. EthernetKRL 2.2.9, KRC4 EthernetIP 2.0.3
PLC: Compact logix 1769-L36 ERMS LOGIX5336 ERM SAFETY,
Studio V28 running on it.

I have been working through kukas KR C4 Ethernet/Ip 2.0 manual, I have also gotten good information from this forum post :
 https://www.robot-forum.com/robotforum/kuka-robot-forum/user-request-ethernet-ip-configuration/
I have installed Kukas Rockwell AOP and created a test program to try the signals.
I’m a little confused on whether I should use Kuka AOPs or the Generic EthernetSafety module.
I have tried the generic ethernet module but failed to get that communicating also.

Ip Address details
Robot IP address : 192.168.1.10, Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
PLC address : 192.168.1.33, Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
Laptop address : 192.168.1.100, Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0
USB : my laptop is connected to the usb port of the compact logix.
I have connected X66 KLI into port 1 of the compact logix plc. Laptop is connected to port 2 of the plc.

Workvisual setup
If you see the attached, I have setup an ethernet/ip and configured the local safety slave.
For I/O mapping I have edited the safey I/O bytes down to bools. But I am not sure what Robot inputs I need to map these to for safety. Maybe someone can advise ?
I’m not sure if I need to add another ethernet device to cater for Non Safety Standard signals from the PLC.

Allen Bradley setup.
RS Link…  I can see the kuka robot on the ethernet network ( See image attached)
Studio 5000..   see the attached images of the KRC4 Safety Robot ethernet / Ip that I created using the AOP……  I’m not sure how to match this to the kuka WoV  or vice versa.
The standard KRC4 ethernet I have added, but I’m unsure what address to set it up with..
Kind Regards
RoboG


Offline SkyeFire

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 937
  • Posts: 6362
Re: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 01:50:39 PM »
The safety signals are not mappable.  Or, it might be more accurate to say that are are pre-mapped, and cannot be altered.  So all those "yellow" signals you see in the Mapping display of WorkVisual cannot be altered.

From the PLC side, you have to have two devices -- one for the KUKA Safety I/O, and another for the KUKA "regular" I/O.  Depending on which Safety option you have installed in the KRC4, the Safety I/O will be either 2 or 8 bytes (IIRC).

The regular I/O can be set to a number of different total byte sizes.  As long as that size matches on both the robot configuration and the PLC AOP, it should work.

I've actually had better success on some systems, in the past, using a "generic" AOP on the AB side, for both the Safety and Regular I/Os.  But other people swear by using the KUKA AOPs, so... you may need to try a few different combinations.

I recall that getting the Safe I/O working on the AB side requires jumping through a rather non-intuitive series of hoops in RSLogix -- I had one case where my assigned PLC operator didn't know anything about setting up Safe I/O, and we had the regular I/O working for a week before we finally got the Safe I/O working -- we had all the settings correct, but for the exact sequence of pages and button-pushes in RSLogix, we had to get expert advice.

I would also double-check that you're not using one of the "forbidden" subnets in the KRC4 -- check the 3rd tab on the Network Configuration screen on the SmartPad. 

Offline DanV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 2
Re: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2018, 02:22:47 PM »
If you are using the Safety AOP, you have already defined Safety -AND- non-safety I/O (2 bytes and 256 bytes).
You don't need a second device - and if you did, what IP address would you assign it?  You already have your safety AOP assigned to the robot IP.

We just finished setting up 16 KRC4 controls and IIRC the robot default was 8 safety and 256 regular (which we downsized to 64 bytes regular I/O - that's still a lot of bits for handshaking).

Offline SkyeFire

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 937
  • Posts: 6362
Re: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 07:49:51 PM »
Hm?  That's different from my experience -- last time I did it, the Safety AOP was only safety signals, and the non-safe I/O was handled by a different AOP altogether.

Of course, that's what I'm recalling from looking over my PLC-person's shoulder -- my RSLogix skills are pretty minimal.

Then again, I suppose it's entirely possible someone might have made a custom "combined" AOP.

And I've had a couple applications where 256 bytes wasn't enough:icon_eek:  Of course, that was when I needed to transfer lots of data, and trying to "serialize" it over EIP with handshaking and the 12ms I/O cycle was going to cause me minutes of delay.... 

Offline DanV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 2
Re: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2018, 09:36:33 PM »
We're using a version 1.6 Kuka AOP published sometime in April of 2018.
I was only saying that we cut the standard size smaller, but, of course, one may desire a larger amount.

Offline RoboG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: KRC4 communicate to compact logix safety plc over ethernet
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2018, 04:23:20 PM »
Hi Skyfire, DanV,

Thank you for your help and apologies  for not replying earlier, I was offsite and then the robo forum was being rehosted.

I have had some success and taken your advice to steer me in the right direction.

So I have not tried to map safety / Io and I figured out how to set the devices in WoV.   I set up a 2byte safety slave and an 8 byte local slave 1 for standard.

On the PLC I setup a Generic Safety - Standard ethernet module available on V28.    I configured the bytes and plc & robot are communicating.

Kind Regards
RoboG