Author Topic: Cubic S + External Axis  (Read 1377 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Max G

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 16
Cubic S + External Axis
« on: April 20, 2016, 10:23:21 PM »
Hi


Is it possible to monitor Axis 8 (Track Axis of Traverse Robot) in the cubic S ?


Regards


Max
« Last Edit: April 21, 2016, 04:15:34 PM by Maximus »

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 448
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 06:28:11 PM »
Electrically, the interconnecting harness has provision for JT7, JT8, JT9 encoder signals.
However, according to the manual, specifically mentioned as a restriction - if using a Mitsubishi Motor, this cannot be monitored ( I assume this is down to the encoder used on these motors), so the monitoring of this axis should be disabled.
There is no mention of specific linear track restrictions - so can only assume this restriction is only applicable for the Mitsubishi Motor as an external axis motor used in conjunction with Cubic-S.
The other motors usually used as external axes are Sanyo - there is no mention of any restriction on this motor, so based on that, I would be inclined to say:
Yes, but only if the external axes have Sanyo motors fitted.

However, this is only my interpretation of information I have read, so would recommend you to clarify this with a Kawasaki Distributor first.

Offline ticktack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 71
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 07:28:27 PM »
This is possible to monitor an external 8th and 9th axis, but new special file ".as"  is needed in the cubic-s

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 448
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 05:29:34 PM »
Quote
new special file ".as"  is needed in the cubic-s

What do you mean by this.......please tell me more?

Offline ticktack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 71
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2017, 06:57:15 PM »
I was working on a project using cubic-s and a X Y robot gantry. Y was dual servo driven. To view and monitor zones for a external axis, KRI had to provide a special .as file they made to view the external axis. I have the file, but I'm not certain KRI freely hands it out

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 448
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2017, 07:41:48 PM »
Hmmmm.........interesting you say about the .as......

I was lead to believe that Cubic S is a parallel system running it's own configuration based on 2 internal CPU's running a duplicate robot model controlled/monitored by only the live encoder values fed back from the joints and external axes in addition to EOAT points and tcp.
No direct communication exists between Cubic S and the AS except for the CRC (Cubic S safety signature) and software version during the boot up phase for mismatch/configuration differences.

I only know about specific as commands that disable monitoring of these external axis, where the Controller will operate as normal with external axes, but Cubic S does not monitor for them even though the encoder values are still being received in the Cubic S (such as spin, and servo guns).
External traverse axes, as long as they have the Kawasaki motors driving them, can be monitored as far as I'm aware without any additional as changes.

I'll have to do some digging around and see if my understanding of Cubic S is not quite correct......Thanks for the additional info though, much appreciated.


Offline webcrest786

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2017, 10:52:01 AM »
New special file ". as" maybe it's necessary in the cubic-so while monitoring 8th and 9th axis, but I'm not pretty much sure that,

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 448
Re: Cubic S + External Axis
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2017, 08:20:35 AM »
From what I know:

Cubic S (CS Configurator Software) allows for functional configurations/IO Mapping etc, you can create a configuration offline without needing any Robot Model or External Axes references.

Robot Model and External Axes references are contained within the Controller (Robot Parameters of the .as) - This includes DH parameters, Zeroing values and Encoder resolutions, Arm link lengths etc.
This Model information is merged with the Cubic S Configuration in CS Configurator when you 'Read Robot Parameters'
Then you write this information into Cubic S 'Write Cubic S Parameters'.
Resulting in Cubic S monitoring the same hardware/position as the Controller is operating.

Cubic S when running, uses these parameters (to virtualise the robot and external axes within Cubic S), using the DH parameters/Link lengths and live encoder values to determine where in the virtual/physical world the robot/external axes and monitoring points are and activate any configured monitored functions.

Depending on how these external axes are being used (ie if they have motion limits - such as a traverse axis) then these can set and monitored for.

I think where some confusion is (and this includes myself) is how to make the external axes 'viewable' in the monitoring screen or in CS Configurator.
- I think this is purely down to the Model Information contained within the Controller for the External Axes (DH Parameters/Link Lengths) which can only come from the Robot Parameters of the Controller (.as) during the CS Configuration stage.