Author Topic: RS015: Adjust the path of the robot by pressure  (Read 197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stb-ktb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
RS015: Adjust the path of the robot by pressure
« on: November 06, 2018, 10:38:30 AM »
Hello,

We have a Kawasaki RS015 (E-Series Controller) robot that is equipped with a brush head. The brush cleans long straights but they are not always the same height.
Is it possible to push our brush head down with a certain pressure. Does the pressure rise and then adjust it in its path?

Some sort of real time path change function that adjust its path within a margin of error ?

Thanks,

« Last Edit: November 06, 2018, 10:40:42 AM by stb-ktb »

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 107
  • Posts: 724
Re: RS015: Adjust the path of the robot by pressure
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2018, 08:02:50 AM »
Welcome to the forum.......... :beerchug:

I personally have never come across an RTPM function dedicated to pressure/force feedback.
- Except for the Soft Absorb function - reduces torque to allow force received to adjust position.
- I am not sure this could be applied in an RTPM process though (maybe this is an area to investigate).
- I would speak to a Kawasaki Distributor to see if an actual function is available.

The main issue here is the received forces that you are referring to are indeterminable (ie you are unaware of which joints are going to be affected).
- I have seen something similar, but 2 cameras were used to track ahead in order to determine a height variation instead.
- The values received were sent back to the robot and path was adjusted accordingly in real time.
- This was not a dedicated function, but had to be hard coded in (ie sample and move, sample and move).
- I have no code to post as an example unfortunately.

The other area regarding forces, is maybe look into the AS Commands:
IQARM
TRQNM

These commands you can use to monitor current/torque on each axis, and maybe you could utilize these in a 'sample/move' configuration to achieve your goal.
Again, definitely worth throwing a question to Kawasaki to see if there is a definitive function, otherwise one of the above solutions may be worth considering/investigating further.

Offline stb-ktb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: RS015: Adjust the path of the robot by pressure
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2018, 11:53:57 AM »
Hi kwakisaki, thank you for your reply,

Quote
I personally have never come across an RTPM function dedicated to pressure/force feedback.
- Except for the Soft Absorb function - reduces torque to allow force received to adjust position.
- I am not sure this could be applied in an RTPM process though (maybe this is an area to investigate).
- I would speak to a Kawasaki Distributor to see if an actual function is available.

I have tried looking into the soft absorber function (the Kawasaki distributor suggested it), but after some investigation i think it cannot be applied in our situation.

Quote
The other area regarding forces, is maybe look into the AS Commands:
IQARM
TRQNM

I think I'm going to ask about the AS commands, this is the simplest way to go without having to use external sensors.

Thank you for pointing me in the right direction!

Offline kwakisaki

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 107
  • Posts: 724
Re: RS015: Adjust the path of the robot by pressure
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2018, 11:01:26 PM »
No problem, hope you can find a solution.
- Below is just a snippet of code, that you could possibly use - Just as a sampler/value grabber.
- mtr_curr_ref[] array would need to be pre-defined as a reference comparator.

Code: [Select]
FOR .tmp = 1 TO 6
  mtr_curr[.tmp] = ABS(IQARM(.tmp))
  IF mtr_curr[.tmp]=>mtr_curr_ref[.tmp] THEN
   ;***** Put in some action here *****
  END
END