Author Topic: Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000  (Read 1886 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Industrialrobotix

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 99
    • Industrial Robot Supply, Inc. - Industrialrobotix
Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000
« on: July 26, 2016, 12:32:16 AM »
Is this even possible to do?  Has anyone successfully been able to access I/O through "Ethernet I/P" between Logix Designer 5000 and Roboguide?
Industrial Robot Supply, Inc.
Industrial Robotix
www.industrialrobotix.com
Robotic Systems Integrators
New, Used, Refurbished - Fanuc, Motoman, ABB
724-646-0245

Offline dmargine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 10
Re: Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 04:49:32 PM »
Logix Designer 5000 is an Allen-Bradley Logix Controller platform configuration software...Roboguide is a FANUC controller simulation software...You will need an A-B Logix controller simulation software such as Logix5000 Emulator in order to replicate/simulate a Logix controller exchanging I/O with a FANUC controller containing the EtherNet/IP Adapter option...You will be using the Logix Designer to configure the LogixEmulator controller...
Unfortunately, you cannot quite replicate the Ethernet connectivity within a PC running the two "virtual" controllers...I could develop an A-B HMI application while connected to a Logix5000 Emulator, however, I have to use an AB Virtual Backplane comms driver to connect the two applications...I am not aware of any FANUC comms driver capable to connect a Roboguide controller to an application running on the same physical machine....
The same goes for the scenario in which you have a real Logix Controller with a configured FANUC Generic Ethernet Module and Roboguide running on a PC within the same subnet as the Logix controller Ethernet port...Logix Designer is using a communication driver to connect to the CPU...Software comms packages are not part of the cyclic I/O data transfer but they are treated as "overhead"...

Offline cobenson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 526
Re: Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2016, 12:13:29 AM »
I have been wanting to do this for years. It would be so much easier for troubleshooting.

Offline MHammer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2018, 07:44:41 AM »
It's been two years, anyone have a solution? :)

Offline sibrdave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 11
Re: Roboguide talking to Logix Designer 5000
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2018, 06:18:08 AM »
Yes, i have done it about a year ago lol. Not exactly ethernet ip, but i believe the communication works similar to ethernet packets. I can communicate roboguide and robot studio to a sim plc, sim hmi, real plc, real hmi etc.  The secret communication medium is opc.