Author Topic: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection  (Read 867 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dha

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 235
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2018, 04:38:29 PM »
We use S/FTP cables and industrial unmanaged ethernet switch. Communication network is separated from company's and we have usually 4-5 devices connected.

But still I have problems with IMSTP or HOLD signal.
That's why I delay it on robot side ...

Offline RobotWizard0216

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 78
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2018, 04:44:29 PM »
We use S/FTP cables and industrial unmanaged ethernet switch. Communication network is separated from company's and we have usually 4-5 devices connected.

But still I have problems with IMSTP or HOLD signal.
That's why I delay it on robot side ...

Curious on how you delay it on the Robot Side?

Offline dha

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 235
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2018, 04:49:51 PM »
I map UOP for HOLD signal to a flag.
I'm checking actual HOLD DI signal from PLC in GB logic.
If it goes off, I'm counting register value and every cycle I check if it is still OFF.
If it is still off after 5 cycles, I set flag for UOP HOLD to OFF, else it is ON.

Offline RobotWizard0216

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 78
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2018, 05:27:04 PM »
I map UOP for HOLD signal to a flag.
I'm checking actual HOLD DI signal from PLC in GB logic.
If it goes off, I'm counting register value and every cycle I check if it is still OFF.
If it is still off after 5 cycles, I set flag for UOP HOLD to OFF, else it is ON.

Thanks,

So you are using the robot to control to keep the HOLD and IMSTP signal high instead of the PLC. You added a buffer to ensure that the signal is loss.

Offline smurrill73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 47
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2018, 05:19:25 PM »
I'm going to make an assumption--namely, that you are communicating Ethernet/IP?  I had exactly this problem a while back, and found that the problem was in the Omron configuration, I had the input connection set to Multicast (which is default).  I changed it to point-to-point and the problem went away.

Offline RoTaTech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 8
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2018, 12:18:42 PM »
I'm going to make an assumption--namely, that you are communicating Ethernet/IP?  I had exactly this problem a while back, and found that the problem was in the Omron configuration, I had the input connection set to Multicast (which is default).  I changed it to point-to-point and the problem went away.

Smurrill - Thanks for the tip. I am trying it right now, and I do not see within the Omron where to change that. I know exactly where I would within an A-B, but not Omron ...
« Last Edit: October 20, 2018, 12:47:36 PM by RoTaTech »

Offline smurrill73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 47
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2018, 05:30:07 PM »
It's been a little while since I used Network Configurator, I did my last couple of configurations from Sysmac Studio.

In the last image you attached, are you able to change the multi-cast selection to point-to-point?  That looks like the place to make the change.

Offline Robo_Eng_13

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 35
  • -Receive: 32
  • Posts: 237
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2018, 06:25:29 PM »
This is not exactly the issue we had, but we did find out that the robots are basically set up to look at every packet of data on the network even if it is not addressed to that robot. This causes ours to become completely non-responsive, and we ended up having to change an ethernet filtering system variable so that it would only look at traffic addressed to it. I am not sure why this was not the default. This may work in your situation, but not sure.

$ETH_FLTR[4] from 0 to 44818

Cycle power for change to take effect.

Offline smurrill73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 47
Re: Intermittent IMSTP over Ethernet connection
« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2018, 07:49:02 PM »
When I was troubleshooting the IMSTP issue I had, Fanuc support had me change that variable as you described.  It had no effect, but it probably is a good idea to change it, especially if your robot will live on a plant IT network.