Author Topic: FTP Overwrite Files  (Read 2414 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ovoyevoda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
FTP Overwrite Files
« on: August 27, 2014, 02:48:45 PM »
Good morning,

I am hoping someone can help me out.  I am trying to send an .ls file to the robot controller via ftp.  It works great, but only if the file name does not exist already.  If it exists, it does not overwrite the file, it just fails the transfer.  Is there a setting that I have to change to make it overwrite the file every time?  Robot controller is R30iB and robot is M70iC.  Thank you.

Offline Sergei Troizky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 62
  • Posts: 490
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 06:38:31 PM »
Typically, you cannot write a .ls file to robot.
A .tp file must be written, and the .ls is the human readable copy of it, created by the robot.

There is a software option for ASCII file load, but even then I am not sure about direct copying via FTP.

Offline ovoyevoda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 06:49:06 PM »
Sergei,

Yea that's what I mean.  I am using Robotmaster to generate an ls file and then sending that ls file to the robot controller via ftp.  The robot controller then uses ASCII to convert the ls file to a tp file.  I have all of that working fine.  The issue is, every time I am sending the file over, it has the same program name (example: blast1.ls which is then converted to blast1.tp).  So what happens is I have to manually go into the teach pendant and delete the file before sending the new file over.  If I delete the file, it gets sent over just fine, but if I do not delete the file, the transfer fails.  What I need it to do is when I send the file over, I need it to overwrite the existing file with the new file I am sending.  Thanks in advance for your help.

Offline ovoyevoda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2014, 08:19:16 PM »
I figured this issue out.  Just for everyone's knowledge, you have to be out of the program for it to overwrite.

Offline rAviteja_g

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 104
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2018, 07:01:39 AM »
hallo ovoyevoda,

using ftp how did you convert .ls file to .tp file without uisng robguide or other softwares.? what batch commands?

Offline RobotWizard0216

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 78
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2018, 04:00:22 PM »
The robot needs the ASCII upload option installed to accept .ls files and then it converts it to .TP.

Offline bagged2drag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 41
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2018, 09:29:11 PM »
I see you solved it.  Yes, you must exit out of the active .tp you would like to overwrite.   

I like to set up a user alarm that exits ALL programs (I believe 43 is the severity to use) and create a tp macro that instructs that user alarm.  This way I can make sure the robot has completely exited ALL programs in the event I need to do something as such, or just for the sake of making sure all tp programs have exited.   

Offline HawkME

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 187
  • Posts: 738
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2018, 05:14:22 PM »
If you have ascii upload then you will be sending the .ls file, not the .tp file.  If you are just sending a program to the robot then you will "put", not "get". "Get" is to get a file from the robot to your computer.

So to put an .ls file, with the ascii upload option:

>>ftp ip address from Robot
>>lcd \Dir
>>anon
>>put roby_prg.ls
>>quit

The anon command just tells the robot you are an anonymous user, not using a user name and password.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2018, 05:16:34 PM by HawkME »

Offline HawkME

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 17
  • -Receive: 187
  • Posts: 738
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2018, 10:51:57 AM »
The answer has been given a couple times already in this post, please read carefully.

 You don't convert the file. The robot will convert it automatically if you have paid for and installed Ascii upload onto the robot.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk


Offline rAviteja_g

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 104
Re: FTP Overwrite Files
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2018, 08:45:59 AM »
I tested it in Simulation, it works but software package j507 ASCII Uploader must be installed