Author Topic: Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling  (Read 894 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline c2c2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling
« on: January 04, 2018, 11:01:46 AM »
Hi,
    This Comau Robot Milling project has been haunting me for quite a while, the issue is when 1st attempt milling a 3D  head sculpture the front, back and Z direction do not align this is been solved (TCP wasn't correctly done and Uframe) once this solved the next problem is there's always a 8mm excess of poly between the front part and rear part. By solving this we adjust the tool length by 4mm at -z direction and my question is why is this happening?
By the way CAM software used is Sprut'm
Coamu controller CG5.

thanks,
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 11:06:36 AM by c2c2 »

Offline Vladarius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 26
Re: Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 01:21:43 PM »
Hello
Do you have some pictures?

Offline sandrot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 87
    • Comau Robotics
Re: Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2018, 07:33:47 AM »
Hi,
    This Comau Robot Milling project has been haunting me for quite a while, the issue is when 1st attempt milling a 3D  head sculpture the front, back and Z direction do not align this is been solved (TCP wasn't correctly done and Uframe) once this solved the next problem is there's always a 8mm excess of poly between the front part and rear part. By solving this we adjust the tool length by 4mm at -z direction and my question is why is this happening?
By the way CAM software used is Sprut'm
Coamu controller CG5.

thanks,

Sculpting projects I know of use a turntable and the robot has absolute accuracy option.

I would otherwise consider an 8 mm error an artifact of some wrong configuration.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
An email to service.robotics@comau.com will also help.

Offline c2c2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2018, 03:54:28 PM »
Hi,
    The problem was the calibration tool length do not match the actual cutter tool length, off by 5mm, that'show the extra stock exist.

Offline sandrot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 87
    • Comau Robotics
Re: Comau NJ60-2.2 for Milling
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2018, 08:21:35 AM »
Did you use a Comau provided mastering tool? If using a mastering tool (and provided that robot calibration is perfect!) you have a procedure described on Control Unit Use manual to properly calculate your actual tool.
An email to service.robotics@comau.com will also help.