Author Topic: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error  (Read 335 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« on: November 01, 2017, 04:14:46 PM »
Dear forum members,

İ need your help about Irb2400 M98A axis2 and axis3 torque and actual position.There is no problem on axis position and robot can move down on axis2 and 3.But when i try to move up axis2 or 3 i take this alarm.

What can be reason?İs anybody can help me.


Best Regards.

Offline Skooter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 78
  • Posts: 431
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2017, 11:42:21 PM »
Did this happen when there was any other issues?  If there is nothing physical restraining the robot, then it could be a brake issue.  If you are NOT getting 24V to the brakes on just axis 2 & 3 when jogging the robot, make sure connectors are seated on the brake release board in the base of the robot.  It could also be a bad wire harness.  If you don't have one, there is a M98A IRB2400 Product Manual in the manuals section. 

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 03:42:32 PM »
Did this happen when there was any other issues?  If there is nothing physical restraining the robot, then it could be a brake issue.  If you are NOT getting 24V to the brakes on just axis 2 & 3 when jogging the robot, make sure connectors are seated on the brake release board in the base of the robot.  It could also be a bad wire harness.  If you don't have one, there is a M98A IRB2400 Product Manual in the manuals section.

Dear Skooter,

Thaks for your reply, we checked brake and we saw that there is no 24v on brake contactor but there is no alarm other axis.JUst 2 and 3 jogging up we have fault.We controlled  brake release board and change some pieces on board but nothing changed.

Should brake contactor pull while joggin any axis?(for example 1 or 5)

Offline Iowan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 507
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 05:07:37 PM »
Should brake contactor pull while joggin any axis?(for example 1 or 5)
Yes, you should hear a "click" when you try to drive the robot.
It's curious that fault is direction-dependent - almost like load is mis-defined or counterbalance isn't working.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 05:13:24 PM by Iowan »

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 06:26:08 PM »
Should brake contactor pull while joggin any axis?(for example 1 or 5)
Yes, you should hear a "click" when you try to drive the robot.
It's curious that fault is direction-dependent - almost like load is mis-defined or counterbalance isn't working.

Dear Iowan,

We open inside the cabinet and when i push the deadman switch run chain contactors pull but brake contactor doesn't pull.


(((It's curious that fault is direction-dependent - almost like load is mis-defined or counterbalance isn't working.))) sorry Iowan i couldn't understand your this sentences.Can you explain?

Thanks for your reply...

Offline Iowan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 507
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2017, 01:15:27 PM »
The "click" is easier to hear at the robot (as the brakes release). Often, the brakes don't release when deadman is engaged - they release when motion is commanded (joystick is moved or program is stepped/executed).

What (if anything) do you have as a tool - how heavy is it?

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2017, 01:30:55 PM »
The "click" is easier to hear at the robot (as the brakes release). Often, the brakes don't release when deadman is engaged - they release when motion is commanded (joystick is moved or program is stepped/executed).

What (if anything) do you have as a tool - how heavy is it?

Dear Iowan,

The brakes dont release when motion any axis.

İ have just gripper and connnection tool and we carry on robot gripper almost 300 grams MS58 brass metarial to put in a jaw.

Best Regards.

Offline Skooter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 78
  • Posts: 431
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2017, 02:07:25 AM »
If the K3 (brake) contactor is not pulling in when you jog the robot, then the contactor could be bad.  Make sure the K3 coil connections have the correct wires and voltages:
A2 coil terminal has wire # 289, should be 0V and will ohm as shorted to the chassis.
A1 coil terminal has wire # 294 and will measure 22-24VDC when jogging the robot.

The K3 coil resistance should be the same as K1.
If there is no 24VDC on A1 when jogging, then it may be the Panel Unit.  Check Panel Unit connector X8 to make sure it is fully seated.

Try jog the robot as little as possible when the brakes are engaged as it prematurely wears out the brake and power going to the rectifier is still going thru the in-rush resistors which will cause them to overheat.

Also note that the weight of the tooling will help the arm overcome the brakes when jogging down and resist going up.  Gravity wins again.

Offline Iowan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 507
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 06:37:26 PM »
I hesitate to suggest it, but you could press a brake release to see if the arm moves. It's better to have someone hold the arm - even at that, you'd probably just want to jab the button - depending on the load. If the load is manageable, you can see if the axis moves easily - or if you have to fight it to make it move. Axes 2 and 3 are probably the two most gravity-sensitive axes. At least it's not a 6400...

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2017, 06:31:12 AM »
I hesitate to suggest it, but you could press a brake release to see if the arm moves. It's better to have someone hold the arm - even at that, you'd probably just want to jab the button - depending on the load. If the load is manageable, you can see if the axis moves easily - or if you have to fight it to make it move. Axes 2 and 3 are probably the two most gravity-sensitive axes. At least it's not a 6400...

Dear Iowan,

We try to press brake release button and robot can moves on axis 2 and  3 easily.( robot is too heavy =) )

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2017, 06:34:17 AM »
If the K3 (brake) contactor is not pulling in when you jog the robot, then the contactor could be bad.  Make sure the K3 coil connections have the correct wires and voltages:
A2 coil terminal has wire # 289, should be 0V and will ohm as shorted to the chassis.
A1 coil terminal has wire # 294 and will measure 22-24VDC when jogging the robot.

The K3 coil resistance should be the same as K1.
If there is no 24VDC on A1 when jogging, then it may be the Panel Unit.  Check Panel Unit connector X8 to make sure it is fully seated.

Try jog the robot as little as possible when the brakes are engaged as it prematurely wears out the brake and power going to the rectifier is still going thru the in-rush resistors which will cause them to overheat.

Also note that the weight of the tooling will help the arm overcome the brakes when jogging down and resist going up.  Gravity wins again.

Dear Skooter,

There is no 24v K3 (brake contactor.) but we have 24v on k1 and k2.

We chechked the panel unit we change the relays on this board. but now again we dont have 24v on k3.

Can it be a software problem? what do you think another,

Thanks for your cooperation.

Offline Iowan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 507
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2017, 07:14:00 PM »
I'm probably missing something really basic, but...

1. If the other 4 axes are working, K3 would seem to be working.
2. If the manual brake release works, the internal wiring would seem to be OK.

I don't have a schematic readily available (it's on page 455/572 in the  M98A IRB2400 Product Manual Skooter posted), but you might continuity test the brake leads from the motor to the cabinet side of the motor cable. (First, I'd disconnect and re-connect both ends of the motor cable.)
« Last Edit: November 15, 2017, 07:34:25 PM by Iowan »

Offline Skooter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 78
  • Posts: 431
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2017, 09:46:38 PM »
Once again, this assumes that K3 contactor is not pulling in when jogging the robot.  Is this true?

If true, please verifiy that the robot is actually moving while checking for 24VDC on wire #294 at contactor K3 A1 coil terminal.
First, try checking with meter positive lead on terminal A1 and negative meter lead to the chassis.
Second, try checking with meter positive lead on K3 terminal A1 and negative meter lead on K3 terminal A2.

The 24V to enable K3 contactor is output from the Panel Unit on connector K8-10.

The relays on the Panel Unit are for E-Stop dry contacts for customer use, they are not part of the brake circuit.
The 24V for each of the 3 contactor A1 terminals all come from differerent circuits.  See pages 15 & 16 of the controller prints.

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2017, 06:15:43 AM »
Once again, this assumes that K3 contactor is not pulling in when jogging the robot.  Is this true?

If true, please verifiy that the robot is actually moving while checking for 24VDC on wire #294 at contactor K3 A1 coil terminal.
First, try checking with meter positive lead on terminal A1 and negative meter lead to the chassis.
Second, try checking with meter positive lead on K3 terminal A1 and negative meter lead on K3 terminal A2.

The 24V to enable K3 contactor is output from the Panel Unit on connector K8-10.

The relays on the Panel Unit are for E-Stop dry contacts for customer use, they are not part of the brake circuit.
The 24V for each of the 3 contactor A1 terminals all come from differerent circuits.  See pages 15 & 16 of the controller prints.

Dear Skooter,

You are right,the problem is K3 contactor.it seems good but we try to push k3 contactor with deadman switch.Robot can moves A2 and A3.

We change it problem solved.

Thank you for cooperation.

Offline fthozcan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: IRB 2400 M98A Axis2 and Axis3 Error
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2017, 06:17:29 AM »
I'm probably missing something really basic, but...

1. If the other 4 axes are working, K3 would seem to be working.
2. If the manual brake release works, the internal wiring would seem to be OK.

I don't have a schematic readily available (it's on page 455/572 in the  M98A IRB2400 Product Manual Skooter posted), but you might continuity test the brake leads from the motor to the cabinet side of the motor cable. (First, I'd disconnect and re-connect both ends of the motor cable.)

Thank you for cooperation Iowan,

We solved problem with changing K3 contactor.(İt seems good but not)