Author Topic: MOTN-017 error  (Read 2274 times)

Offline sam_janes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
MOTN-017 error
« on: May 03, 2011, 03:59:02 PM »
Over the weekend I had one of my Fanuc M16iA robots running on an RJ-3 controller crash. When the technician that was on staff tried to home the robot it ran into itself and crashed again. He then tried to move the robot out of the crash position. When he moved axis 2 or 3. It only moved a little in the negative direction and gives the fault MOTN-017 LIMIT ERROR (G:1, A:6 Hex)
   If I am not mistaken it should be giving me an error on the axis I am trying to move and not Axis 6 as stated in the error. I can't get the robot to home position because of the issue. Any help would be much appreciated.

Offline flatcurve

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 40
  • Posts: 388
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 04:37:03 PM »
This is the problem with the hex notation that FANUC uses. It says A:6 and you think that it means Axis 6. But it's not. G:1 A:6 is an axis 2 & 3 interaction problem. Take a look at the table I've attached for future reference.

As for your problem, it sounds like you may be jogging in a world, user or jog frame. For this problem you might be better off moving one axis at a time. Put the robot into Joint jog mode (Hit the COORD button until it says JOINT) and jog those axes out of each other's way.

Offline blizzard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 38
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 04:54:50 PM »
MOTN–017 STOP.G Limit error (Group:%d^2, Axis:%x^3 Hex)
Cause: The specified position falls outside the joint movable range ($PARAM_GROUP.$LOWERLIMS,
$PARAM_GROUP.$UPPERLIMS).
Axis j is defined in hexadecimal, as shown below.
Axis 1: 1, Axis 2: 2, Axis 3: 4, Axis 4: 8, Axis 5: 10, Axis 6: 20, Axis 7: 40, Axis 8: 80, Axis 9: 100
If two or more axes have caused this alarm, the total of their values, shown above, is indicated in
hexadecimal.
Example Axis 1 + Axis 3 + Axis 4 + Axis 6 + Axis 9
1 4 8 20 100
Remedy:1 Correct the position so that it falls within the movable range.
2 Change the movable range settings on the joint movable range screen, which is displayed by selecting
6 SYSTEM AXIS LIMITS.

do not jog to vernier marks. An alternate method is that You could add (or subtract) 10 deg to the current value and single axis master J3. This should allow you to move the robot out of the limits.

Then you do a single axis master again by moving the robot to 0 deg and then jogging it back by 10 deg.

This way you will recover without having to touch up all your programs...

To be more accurate add an offset value upto 3 decimals - Example - 10.568 deg.

Hope this helps you. good luck if you are still stuck with the problem  :n1:
 


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------





-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jimmy Stamper
Director of Automation

Offline sam_janes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 05:08:56 PM »
That makes sense. I can only move the robot when in Joint mode. I get the Motn-017 fault for all joints in any other mode. In Joint mode I can move Joint 1 in both directions with no problem. I get a fault on Joint 2 in the -Y direction but not in the +Y direction. The same thing with Joint 3. It will move okay in the +Z direction but not in the -Z direction. I can move all the points if I change the DMR-GRP from True to false.

Offline sam_janes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2011, 09:57:40 PM »
I tried everything in both posts and the problem still persists. Any other options or thoughts?

Offline blizzard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 38
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2011, 10:12:17 PM »
try to playing with your mastering!!  force the robot to think it isn't mastered.  If you set the variable $DMR.$MASTER_DONE to false, then the robot will not know it is past a limit.  you can then jog the robot out of your limit then set the variable back to true and perform a calibration.  As you will not have modified the mastering data, your mastering will be spot on to what it was before you had issues. Or just master cal the robot.

Good luck


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jimmy Stamper
Director of Automation

Offline sam_janes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2011, 12:30:46 PM »
I have been playing with the mastering. The thing I am having trouble with is that I have two joints, 2 and 3, that I can only move in the positive direction when I have the DMR-GRP turned to true. When I have it turned to false, I can move the robot in any direction on both of those joints.

Offline sam_janes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2011, 01:02:44 PM »
I finally got the issue resolved by taking all of the joints to the hash marks and mastering the robot. I was still having some issues, getting a MOTN-63 fault on every point unless I retaught it. I finally loaded a back up image of the robot and all of the problems, other than having to reteach points is going. While I am glad that the robot is back in production. Does anyone have a reason that restoring the robot image would take care of this issue? I would like to know for future use and documentation here at the plant.

Offline blizzard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 38
Re: MOTN-017 error
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2011, 06:08:37 PM »

Glad to hear you're up and running  :yesyesyes: Not fully sure as to why the back up image solved all the problems after mastering the robot. It could be.... some of the VAR you were playing around with got rest back to normal. Regardless you're running again. Good Job man  :hi-bye:
Jimmy Stamper
Director of Automation